Moving a telephone socket

Computers, Internet & Broadband, IT issues, Phones & Mobiles and televisions.
Post Reply
JohnnyD
Posts: 493
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2019 8:28 am
Location: U.K. / Mayenne
Has thanked: 112 times
Been thanked: 62 times

Moving a telephone socket

Post by JohnnyD »

Can I move the phone connection that comes into the premises, its not in the room we want it, are there rules like BT and the master NTE5 must not be touched? How strict if so?

JD

crakpot
Posts: 419
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 10:08 pm
Location: Pyrenees Atlantique France
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 69 times

Re: Moving a telephone socket

Post by crakpot »

No idea of the regulations but I have moved my sockets at three address just make sure you take a piccy of the connectors two wires :)

User avatar
Loup-garou
Posts: 776
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2018 10:04 am
Location: Plateau de Langres 52 & Autun 71
Has thanked: 148 times
Been thanked: 266 times

Re: Moving a telephone socket

Post by Loup-garou »

Likewise, I have moved them with no idea of the regs. However, when the guy (Orange?) came to fit our landline here, I told him the position I wanted the phone to be in was a temporary spot and asked for some slack in the cable. He left me several loops, between entry and the box, and said that should let you move it to anywhere in the house.

User avatar
RobertArthur
Posts: 945
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2018 11:53 am
Location: 58 la Nièvre
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 272 times

Re: Moving a telephone socket

Post by RobertArthur »

The master NTES has it's equivalent in the French DTI as phone line entry point. Once upon a time this was all "propriété de l 'État", don't touch or else......Nowadays they are more tolerant. I don't'know if your house has a proper DTI or only a simple phone socket. With a DTI just add additional wiring (good quality). More information

Post Reply