Tenant Regulations

goslow
Has thanked: 0

Tenant Regulations

Post by goslow » Mon May 14, 2018 9:36 am

One of our tenants has decided that his wife wants to start a business of minding children in our house. They have been good tenants for the past 3 years. We are however are concerned at the possibility of damage to our house with an additional 4 to 5 children living in our house 5 days a week. In addition would we be exposed to any potential legal problems.
The tenants have told us that they do not need any permission to start the business, is this true, is the sector not regulated.?

mysty

Re: Tenant Regulations

Post by mysty » Mon May 14, 2018 9:57 am

I am no legal expert on this but if someone hurt themselves,I do not see why you would not get sued this being France and you being the owner of the property. You cannot say you did not know what they were doing.
At the very least I would make sure they had proper insurance to cover you as a buffer zone.
Looking at it from another angle, if I have someone doing a job for me and he hurts himself and I did not make sure he had the proper safety equipment I am liable.
Perhaps someone else will be able to give you clearer advice.
You certainly do not want to dig yourself a hole, I might be completely wrong on this subject and you have no need to worry.
mysty1 the new up to date user friendly version for an enhanced user experience

Doug

Post by Doug » Mon May 14, 2018 10:13 am

Go and talk to a notaire, its free for advice.

Fitter

Post by Fitter » Mon May 14, 2018 10:40 am

"If I have someone doing a job for me and he hurts himself and I did not make sure he had the proper safety equipment I am liable"

Is this statement strictly correct? How does the average householder know what safety equipment should be used for any job that a contractor is doing?
Whenever you hear the consensus of scientists agrees on something or other, reach for your wallet, because you’re being had.

– Michael Crichton

After the Storm