Cost of rewire

Post Reply
User avatar
Le-Dolly
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:27 pm
Location: La Souterraine (23)
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 50 times
Contact:

Re: Cost of rewire

Post by Le-Dolly »

@ Polarengineer & @ why me? those are not my rules but those of a higher authority. I fully understand those that do not want their property hard wired and fully believe in the wonder of WiFi and the mobilephone. There are many others, we included, that cannot avail themselves to such devices (WiFi) because of the construction of their abodes without many, many repeaters, usually in a very inconvenient place. In our situation, being a former fortified building we are blessed with the usual 1.2mt thick exterior walls and as a special treat some 1mt thick granite internal walls. WiFi is a non starter. However being a sometime Beta tester for Legrand, we have still got the LiFi set-up that we put through it's paces in place that works as WiFi never could. When that becomes a more reasonable option it will very likely become the norm. But for now.....NF C 15-100 rules.
Le-Dolly ( . )( . ) www.pink-electrique.fr

Le Démerdeur
Posts: 8281
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 11:22 pm
Location: Picardie and occasionally Sussex
Has thanked: 1353 times
Been thanked: 1159 times

Re: Cost of rewire

Post by Le Démerdeur »

Mike wrote:
Wed May 06, 2020 1:34 pm
Thanks to RA these two pages are the checks to be carried out prior to asking for a Consuel inspection:
Says who?
Do you think that they answer the 2 questions that you posed?


R for achieved: The rule of standard NFC 15-100 is respected.
NR for not realised: The rule is not respected and it must be corrected later. Good luck with that! :lol:

SO for not applicable: The rule is not applicable in this case.

User avatar
Le-Dolly
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:27 pm
Location: La Souterraine (23)
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 50 times
Contact:

Re: Cost of rewire

Post by Le-Dolly »

And will the tableau pass?
Le-Dolly ( . )( . ) www.pink-electrique.fr

Le Démerdeur
Posts: 8281
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 11:22 pm
Location: Picardie and occasionally Sussex
Has thanked: 1353 times
Been thanked: 1159 times

Re: Cost of rewire

Post by Le Démerdeur »

Of course, you just tick the boxes marked R.

You professional électriciens take it far to seriously, after all its simply jobs for the boys dont ya know! :good:

Le Démerdeur
Posts: 8281
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 11:22 pm
Location: Picardie and occasionally Sussex
Has thanked: 1353 times
Been thanked: 1159 times

Re: Cost of rewire

Post by Le Démerdeur »

Le-Dolly wrote:
Mon May 04, 2020 2:27 pm

A small bedroom: perhaps 12m² that's a minimum of 3 sockets spread 'evenly' around the room and most people will want at least doubles. Telephone, internet & television to be included, per room, this could be on a single cable, Cat 6 grade 3, and a specialised four way socket. Lighting with switching, presumably also with switching at the bedside, perhaps either side.
Bathroom & landing: perhaps 1 socket in each and again lighting. With three bedrooms, that is possibly a landing light switch at each door and at the top of the stairs.
Salon: again 1 socket for every 4m², again presumably doubles, a possible minimum of three sockets at the rear of the TV. Telephone, internet & television to be included. Lighting.
Kitchen: 6 sockets, 4 of which must be above worktop height. Specialised circuits for freezer, dishwasher and washing machine. Sockets for electric oven and hob in 6mm². Socket, or outlet, for a hotte. Lighting.
Other spaces: 1 socket for every 4m².
Entrée: 1 socket per 4m². Lighting with switching at the main entrance, bottom of the stairs and possibly at the salon and kitchen doors.
Exterior: Light and switch at the main entrance.
Tableau: 2 range box with a minimum of 2 Interrupteur différentiels, a minimum of 2 lighting circuits, 32a circuit for the cooker/hob. 3 specialised circuits. 1 kitchen circuit, probably 3 socket circuits. Ideally a inter/diff type hpi for the freezer circuit.
Boite de Comms: depending on the cableling arrangements possibly a 2 range box.
Could you really accomodate all that on a tableau deux rangée leaving the required 25% free space for expansion Le Dolly?

Since the regs changed regarding the foisonnement of circuits served by the ID's I have struggled and actually failed to get everyting in a 3 rangée tableau for a one bedroomed flat, they were cheap (very cheap) tableaux pré-équipés and had I thrown away the 40 amp ID's & used 63 amp ones I would have been OK.

My pal who buys the precabled kits (pieuvres) from a specialist always ends up with a minimum 4 rangée tableau for a small house and it looks very very busy once populated.

User avatar
Le-Dolly
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:27 pm
Location: La Souterraine (23)
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 50 times
Contact:

Re: Cost of rewire

Post by Le-Dolly »

Le Démerdeur wrote:
Wed May 06, 2020 6:33 pm
Le-Dolly wrote:
Mon May 04, 2020 2:27 pm

A small bedroom: perhaps 12m² that's a minimum of 3 sockets spread 'evenly' around the room and most people will want at least doubles. Telephone, internet & television to be included, per room, this could be on a single cable, Cat 6 grade 3, and a specialised four way socket. Lighting with switching, presumably also with switching at the bedside, perhaps either side.
Bathroom & landing: perhaps 1 socket in each and again lighting. With three bedrooms, that is possibly a landing light switch at each door and at the top of the stairs.
Salon: again 1 socket for every 4m², again presumably doubles, a possible minimum of three sockets at the rear of the TV. Telephone, internet & television to be included. Lighting.
Kitchen: 6 sockets, 4 of which must be above worktop height. Specialised circuits for freezer, dishwasher and washing machine. Sockets for electric oven and hob in 6mm². Socket, or outlet, for a hotte. Lighting.
Other spaces: 1 socket for every 4m².
Entrée: 1 socket per 4m². Lighting with switching at the main entrance, bottom of the stairs and possibly at the salon and kitchen doors.
Exterior: Light and switch at the main entrance.
Tableau: 2 range box with a minimum of 2 Interrupteur différentiels, a minimum of 2 lighting circuits, 32a circuit for the cooker/hob. 3 specialised circuits. 1 kitchen circuit, probably 3 socket circuits. Ideally a inter/diff type hpi for the freezer circuit.
Boite de Comms: depending on the cableling arrangements possibly a 2 range box.

Could you really accomodate all that on a tableau deux rangée leaving the required 25% free space for expansion Le Dolly?


Since the regs changed regarding the foisonnement of circuits served by the ID's I have struggled and actually failed to get everyting in a 3 rangée tableau for a one bedroomed flat, they were cheap (very cheap) tableaux pré-équipés and had I thrown away the 40 amp ID's & used 63 amp ones I would have been OK.

My pal who buys the precabled kits (pieuvres) from a specialist always ends up with a minimum 4 rangée tableau for a small house and it looks very very busy once populated.
Not an f...ing chance, it is true that we would only use a 2 range as a tableau supplémantaire. The only 2's we would use as a principal would be an 18 module, even then possibly with 63a's.
Le-Dolly ( . )( . ) www.pink-electrique.fr

Le Démerdeur
Posts: 8281
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 11:22 pm
Location: Picardie and occasionally Sussex
Has thanked: 1353 times
Been thanked: 1159 times

Re: Cost of rewire

Post by Le Démerdeur »

:lol: :lol:

User avatar
Polarengineer
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2019 5:32 pm
Location: 23
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 76 times

Re: Cost of rewire

Post by Polarengineer »

LeDolly, I am suprised that you are not using powerline adapters in your castle for WiFi distribution. Absolutely no problems with thick walls, properly positioned they can cover the whole chateau. You can even use a phase connector for three phase supply. I have been promised that the Linky will not disrupt the signal, well I shall know for sure next week when they have arranged to come and install it.
If it's ice, it's nice. If it's hot, it's not.

User avatar
Le-Dolly
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:27 pm
Location: La Souterraine (23)
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 50 times
Contact:

Re: Cost of rewire

Post by Le-Dolly »

Polarengineer wrote:
Thu May 07, 2020 8:10 am
LeDolly, I am suprised that you are not using powerline adapters in your castle for WiFi distribution. Absolutely no problems with thick walls, properly positioned they can cover the whole chateau. You can even use a phase connector for three phase supply. I have been promised that the Linky will not disrupt the signal, well I shall know for sure next week when they have arranged to come and install it.
I threw them away when I got LiFi.
Le-Dolly ( . )( . ) www.pink-electrique.fr

User avatar
Polarengineer
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2019 5:32 pm
Location: 23
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 76 times

Re: Cost of rewire

Post by Polarengineer »

If I may enquire, how does LiFi get the signal input? Do you still use the powerline adaptor to feed all the LEDs throughout the house? The idea of the higher transmission speeds is inviting if you have a high speed internet connection, which ADSL is not. I assume it's lights on all the time, or if using "LiFimax" you have many UV emmitters in live sockets and a dongle for each user. Does a sunlit room upset the signal much?
I love advances in technology and I am trying to read up as much as possible on this subject, but as yet do not see much advantage when stuck without fibre internet.
If it's ice, it's nice. If it's hot, it's not.

Post Reply